Header Image CSS help

Homepage Community Forums Aspire Theme Support Header Image CSS help

Tagged: 

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #19272
    mrlennymank
    Customer

      Hey there,
      I am looking for a little help with the header image on the following site http://testsite.thegreatmedicine.com
      I am trying to remove it from appearing on the hover over Front Page one, but keep it as it is on all other pages and also in the menu bar when scrolling down through the site.
      So far I have tried removing the height as below.

      .header-image .site-title > a {
      background-size: contain !important;
      display: block;
      height: 360px;
      text-indent: -9999px;

      }
      to
      .header-image .site-title > a {
      background-size: contain !important;
      display: block;
      height: 0px;
      text-indent: -9999px;

      }

      But this means that on the internal pages I lose that lovely smooth appearance.
      Is there a way to make this work as I am thinking?
      Many thanks
      John

      #19284
      mrlennymank
      Customer

        Anyone? Ferris?

        #19291
        Wes
        Moderator

          “Anyone? Ferris?”

          He took the day off today, so I’ll have to take over 馃槈

          Are you saying you want to remove the entire header from being shown when scrolling down on the front-page-1 area only? The thing about the way it’s setup, is that if you change the location it affects all pages globally.

          Take a look at the Epik theme demo and let me know if you’d prefer a header that functions like this – http://demo.appfinite.net/epik Note: the “Smooth” fade in only happens the first time you scroll down….after that it shows up regularly. Let me know if that’s what you’re trying to do.

          #19293
          mrlennymank
          Customer

            Ha!. Glad you are here instead of him…bit of a slacker that Ferris!

            What I want is that when you land on the home page, you do not see the header image/logo. The client wants her Logo as large text on Front Page 1.

            But as you begin to scroll down, I want the header image/logo to appear as it does normally.

            Possibly if the logo was transparent and then appeared.

            That Epik theme demo is not quite what I am looking for.

            Thanks for your help and I hope that explains it well enough…

            #19300
            Wes
            Moderator

              Is it possible to create a temporary login? If so, then I can try a couple things to see if this is possible to do. FTP login would be best (if possible) so I can edit PHP and JS code (which is not recommended to do using the WordPress admin editor).

              Just let me know

              #19304
              mrlennymank
              Customer

                Hi Wes,
                I can create a temp FTP login for you no problem. Do you have a support email I can send it to please? Or is there another way I can send it to you…would rather not have that access out in public.

                Cheers

                #19307
                Wes
                Moderator

                  You can send it here, just make sure to click the “Set as private reply” check box and no one will be able to see it. Or the Contact Page as well.

                  #19309
                  mrlennymank
                  Customer
                    This reply has been marked as private.
                    #19310
                    mrlennymank
                    Customer
                      This reply has been marked as private.
                      #19313
                      Wes
                      Moderator
                        This reply has been marked as private.
                        #19324
                        mrlennymank
                        Customer
                          This reply has been marked as private.
                          #19332
                          Wes
                          Moderator

                            You’re Welcome!

                            Whenever you get done feel free to share in the Showcase Forum – https://appfinite.com/forum/showcase/ and I’ll also share on Social Media. Looking great so far!

                            #19443
                            mrlennymank
                            Customer
                              This reply has been marked as private.
                              #19510
                              mrlennymank
                              Customer

                                Hey Wes,
                                Was there any possibility of looking at the issue outlined in the PM for me please? I know you have gone above and beyond the call of duty here, but if I can get a little more of your expertise I will be eternally grateful!
                                Cheers
                                John

                                #19511
                                Wes
                                Moderator

                                  If you comment out the overflow: hidden; on the Fadeup Effect it seems to work. This is located on line 2448 and looks like this –

                                  /* Fadeup Effect
                                  ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- */
                                  
                                  .js .fadeup-effect {
                                  	opacity: 0;
                                  	/* overflow: hidden; */
                                  	-webkit-animation-duration: 1s;
                                  	animation-duration: 1s;
                                  	-webkit-animation-fill-mode: both;
                                  	animation-fill-mode: both;
                                  	-webkit-animation-timing-function: ease-in-out;
                                  	animation-timing-function: ease-in-out;
                                  }

                                  It seems to only happen on the homepage, so adjusting that line of code should fix it. If you don’t have access to the line numbers then you can find it by searching “Fadeup Effect” in your style.css.

                                  #19535
                                  mrlennymank
                                  Customer

                                    Hey Wes,
                                    Thank you so much. You really are amazing and very generous. Is there a way to buy you a coffee or something?

                                    #19549
                                    Wes
                                    Moderator

                                      Thanks for the kind words! Much appreciated! Can’t wait to share your link 馃檪

                                      #19588
                                      mrlennymank
                                      Customer

                                        Hey Wes,

                                        One last little bug I need some help with. That drop down is disappearing behind the images on some pages.Drop DOwn Menu Issue
                                        Is there an easy fix for this?
                                        Thanks again for all your help.
                                        Site looks so good with your theme. Looking forward to getting it out there.
                                        Cheers
                                        John

                                        #19589
                                        Wes
                                        Moderator

                                          I checked some of the pages but it seems to be working on my end. Here is how it looks – http://i.imgur.com/eYUznWl.png

                                          I also resized the browser to different sizes to see if it’s a responsive issue, but it still shows up the same.

                                          Have you tried clearing your browser cache? Hit your Reload button on your browser and see if that works.

                                          #19590
                                          mrlennymank
                                          Customer

                                            Yeah…I never experience it on firefox. It comes up intermittently when my wife is using Chrome. It has also happened for the client herself. But it seems to come and go. I tried to figure it out but it is way beyond my capabilities.

                                            A running joke between me and my wife is me asking her “have you refreshed your cache?”
                                            So any advice would be appreciated.

                                            #19591
                                            Wes
                                            Moderator

                                              Yeah I’m using Chrome as well, I just tested in Firefox and Safari and it’s still working.

                                              Here’s what I “think” it could be if your client experiences this every once in awhile. I noticed the site sometimes takes a while to load, which would have to do with the hosting/server. My guess is, when the site loads slowly, it takes a while for the javascript files to load which activates the dropdown effect. It’s not always slow, just every once in a while.

                                              Another person had a similar issue here – https://twitter.com/appfinite/status/755792763464056832

                                              Other than that I have no idea what else it could be.

                                              #19594
                                              mrlennymank
                                              Customer

                                                OK…that makes sense. I will monitor it and see if I need to improve the overall site speed, which might help that javascript when loading.
                                                Or not.
                                                Either way it looks great.
                                                Thanks again for all your help.

                                                #19613
                                                Wes
                                                Moderator

                                                  You’re Welcome!

                                                Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
                                                • The topic ‘Header Image CSS help’ is closed to new replies.