Three questions about Aspire Pro

Homepage Community Forums Aspire Theme Support Three questions about Aspire Pro

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #20595
    victor2
    Customer

      Hi,

      I have three questions in regards to doing changes in the Aspire Pro theme:

      1. How do I make the top menu none-sticky (so that it doesn’t follow me when I scroll down)?

      2. I would like the same width of the posts and the sidebar as this website has: http://10beasts.com/best-gaming-mouse/ This website also uses slightly different margin/padding at the sides and above the post and sidebar compared to the regular Aspire Pro design. How do I make the changes to get my posts and sidebar in the same position and width as that website?

      3. This website has managed to get a list of four posts on their front page: http://10beasts.com/ I manage to create a similar list, but I can’t get the posts side by side (this website has two posts side by side). How do I get the exact same look on my list on my front page? Any specific widget and settings?

      I would really appreciate some help with this, I have spent days trying to solve these issues myself.

      Thank you.

      #20623
      Wes
      Moderator

        Do you have a link to your site? If you’ve already made changes to your site then I can tell you which lines you’ll need to adjust exactly.

        To prevent the header from being fixed, you’ll need to search for .site-header and either remove, or comment out this – position: fixed;

        Their content width looks like it’s set at 800px, so you could change yours to be the same if that’s what you want –

        .content {
        	float: right;
        	width: 800px;
        }

        The reason they have 4 posts on the homepage is because they are using the Genesis Featured Posts widget. This widget comes with the Genesis Framework by default, but there is a Plugin I use that allows you to control how many columns show up. You can find this on the Aspire Docs page in the Plugins section – https://appfinite.com/theme-setup/aspire-theme-setup/

        #20647
        victor2
        Customer
          This reply has been marked as private.
          #20648
          victor2
          Customer
            This reply has been marked as private.
            #20675
            victor2
            Customer

              Hi again Wes,

              If you’re able to answer any of the latest questions I sent, it would be much appreciated. I fully understand if not all can be answered, but if you know any one of them it would be really helpful.

              Thank you.

              #20676
              Wes
              Moderator

                Sorry I haven’t been receiving some of the forum notifications for some reason. It’s usually supposed to send me an email whenever I get a reply. I’ve noticed this has happened on a few other posts here in the forum as well.

                Give me a sec and let me take a look at your site.

                #20677
                Wes
                Moderator

                  Ok, let’s start with the Header. Just so you know, I have the jumping/skipping issue for Mobile Devices on the To Do list. So once I have that ready and patched up, it will be available in the next update. Part of it has to do with the Sticky Header/Menu, so if you don’t plan on using the Sticky Header, then it shouldn’t affect you since you’re changing the code.

                  Let’s try this to remove the Sticky Header –
                  Look for the code around line 1184 in your CSS and either Remove or Comment it Out like this –

                  .site-header.light {
                  	/*background-color: #000;*/
                  	/* padding-top: 0; */
                  }

                  Let me know if that makes a difference when you test it.

                  I’m not sure what Plugin they’re using for that section in the sidebar. That appears to be something they added in themselves, it’s not a Genesis or Aspire feature.

                  #20691
                  victor2
                  Customer

                    Thank you Wes.

                    For some reason, the CSS does not seem to change or react at all when I try to make changes in the “style.css” file in the Editor when it comes to your theme (it normally always works to make changes there). The only thing I found that works is to go to Appearance -> Edit CSS and add additional CSS there. However, in this case I am not sure how to block out the code that we want to remove using additional CSS. I tried this:

                    .site-header.light {
                    	background-color: none!important;
                    	padding-top: none!important;
                    }

                    But that doesn’t change anything. Any pointers on how to do this?

                    Also do you have any idea how to solve this issue that I asked about earlier (just wanted to check in case you missed the questions):
                    In terms of changing the “content” width to 800px. I did do this change but it doesn’t at all look like the example page at 10beasts.com. The example page also has a smaller sidebar and the content is in a slightly different position (changed padding or margin somehow). Furthermore, their content reacts differently when I decrease the size of the window (for example to look on an iPad), I believe it changes the size to about 600px, while mine just stays the same (which means that the sidebar gets pushed away really quickly on my site). I would like to have the exact same settings as 10beasts.com in the posts. Is this possible?

                    #20709
                    Wes
                    Moderator

                      “For some reason, the CSS does not seem to change or react at all when I try to make changes in the “style.css” file in the Editor “

                      It works, you just need to clear your Browser Cache in order to see the changes instantly. You can do this the fast way by clicking your Reload Button on your browser. Anytime you make a CSS edit, hit your Reload Button and the changes will show up instantly. I would try it again, and let me know once you make the edits, and I’ll check your site from my end.

                      So far the header isn’t “sticky” since it appears you’ve added this code –

                      .site-header {
                          position: absolute!important;
                      }

                      I would actually replace that code with what I mentioned earlier, as the “absolute” can be tricky on certain browsers in certain situations.

                      #20723
                      victor2
                      Customer

                        Thank you.

                        You are right, it was just a cache issue. I changed things exactly how you asked, however as you can see for yourself, I get a big white section on the front page then. If I do however use the “absolute” code that I had before, in combination with removing the code under “.site-header.light” as you suggested, everything seems to work smoothly as far as I can see.

                        Though if you think that using “absolute” can cause issues, do you have any other solution?

                        #20738
                        Wes
                        Moderator

                          The background for the homepage is transparent, that’s why it’s showing a white background if we remove that code from earlier. You can remove the transparent code on line 1179 and it will show the default Black background (assuming that’s what you want) –

                          .featured-section .site-header {
                          	/*background-color: transparent;*/
                          	border:  none;
                          }

                          That should work, I have a screenshot if you want to see what it would look like with that code adjusted to your site. However, if you prefer to use the absolute code you added, and it works, then go ahead and give it a try. I would test it across different browsers to make sure it’s showing consistently. Whichever way works best for you.

                          Let me know if that helps.

                          #20739
                          victor2
                          Customer

                            I went with your code, the “absolute” completely messed things up on mobile (just as you suggested it would on some browsers). Now it works excellent, thank you.

                            One more thing: The “author box” has 0 padding or margin when you view it on mobile. It looks really strange; like something is wrong. Is there any way to add a little bit of padding/margin around it within the dark color?

                            #20749
                            Wes
                            Moderator

                              Thanks, I just noticed that’s an error inside the Theme that I’ll need to get fixed and updated.

                              Take a look around line 2852 in your style.css file for this –

                              	.archive-description,
                              	.author-box,
                              	.comment-respond,
                              	.entry,
                              	.entry-comments,
                              	.entry-pings,
                              	.sidebar .widget,
                              	.site-header {
                              		padding: 0;
                              	}

                              …then go ahead and remove this – .author-box, and the spacing/padding should return back to normal. Right now the padding is set to 0 on mobile devices by mistake, but removing the .author-box for that part should fix it.

                              #20774
                              victor2
                              Customer

                                That works perfectly, thank you!

                                The only last thing I am trying to figure out is how to get the same width, position and movement of the post and sidebar as 10beasts.com.

                                #20804
                                Wes
                                Moderator

                                  They both appear to be the same width. Is it showing up different for you?

                                  #20831
                                  victor2
                                  Customer

                                    I actually managed to find and copy the CSS from the other site, so now they are the same 🙂

                                    One last question: How do I reduce the padding/margin around the content on mobile devices? A number of tables etc that I want to fit into the content would fit a lot better on mobile if that could be done.

                                    Thank you.

                                    #20833
                                    victor2
                                    Customer

                                      Sorry about all the questions, but there is one more thing I am hoping that you might be able to help with.

                                      How do I get the “[Read more…]” buttons on the category pages? I notice that your demo has them. On my site I just get a “[…]” sign and no clickable button.

                                      #20851
                                      Wes
                                      Moderator

                                        It looks like you have your posts set to show Excerpts instead of the Content Limit in the Genesis Theme Settings. If you use Excerpts then you have to add something like this to your functions file –

                                        // Edit the Excerpt link text
                                        add_filter('excerpt_more', 'custom_read_more_link');
                                        add_filter('the_content_more_link', 'custom_read_more_link');
                                            function custom_read_more_link() {
                                                return '&nbsp;<a class="more-link" href="' . get_permalink() . '" rel="nofollow">Continue Reading....</a>';
                                        }
                                      Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
                                      • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.